Home > Guy Maddin, Werner Herzog > Horse Heads

Horse Heads

I had the pleasure of watching Werner Herzog’s “Cave of Forgotten Dreams” last week, at the Transylvania International Film Festival. It’s really nice having a pretty large film festival in your hometown.

For his documentary, Herzog got a special permission from the French authorities to film in Chauvet Cave. The cave contains the oldest paintings known to man ( aprox. 30.000 years old) and one of the most famous of them is the “Panel of the Horses”. I don’t have access to the shots from the actual film, but I do have this picture of it (via wikipedia).

When I saw it, it instantly reminded me of another great film I once saw at the film festival a few years before, “My Winnipeg”.

My Winnipeg (Guy Maddin, 2007)

And yes, you should watch My Winnipeg. My jaw was locked in the ‘drop’ position the whole film. And don’t let the above image scare you, the film will actually make you smile.

My Winnipeg (Guy Maddin, 2007). Lovers out on a winter stroll at the frozen horse-heads.

 

 

Categories: Guy Maddin, Werner Herzog
  1. bogdan
    June 20, 2011 at 3:40 am

    ba Calin…da-o in **** calului….vorbesti despre niste chestii de parca ai fi fan tarantino

    • June 20, 2011 at 8:04 am

      îmi place alegerea de cuvinte, în ton cu post-ul.

  2. March 19, 2013 at 1:18 pm

    This is a bit off topic, I know — your article was
    good by the way! — however I was wondering what I might do about fighting spammy feedback.
    Seems to be far too many for my web site to deal with and I despise going through all of
    them by hand simply to locate a good one or two.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

